Daily Archives: December 24, 2008

Christmas greetings to ya all

First some important announcements;

The next Four Stone Hearth blog carnival  is but a week away and I would like to ask you to be creative during the holidays, if you are please let me know via a comment here or a mail. For you who have read something you feel should be a part of the next 4SH please do the same.

inventerare[delete_this]@hotmail.com

Neuroanthropology hosts the first yearly edition of the Best of Anthropology Blogging and calls for Submissions, check it out!

As it is Christmas Eve and that’s the day we celebrate Christmas by sharing a couple of great gifts; given to me this year.

From an anonymous (for you) donor I’ve gotten his cranium. It has belonged to a doctor (now retired) who bought it in the 50’s during his studies. He felt that it should continue to serve science and will do so through me.

A big thank you goes to fellow archaeologist Leif Häggström working at Kulturmiljö Halland (the author of the blog Arkeologi i Väst – in Swedish). He gave me some fine animal-bones. Among others this vixen (Vulpes vulpes), se pic below.

I also got some bones from a roe deer (Capreolus capreolus), some sheep and from fowls.

ravskelett

vixen

rabock

roe deer

lamm3

sheep

Some of these will be delivered to archaeologist/osteologist Åsa M Larsson of the blog Ting och tankar (blog in Swedish).

lamm2

sheep ca 6 months old

lamm

sheep ca 6 months old

I’ll take a short Christmas break in blogging but I’ll be back before the New Year.

Now I’ll go celebrate Christmas so Happy Christamas to all of you!

Magnus Reuterdahl