Joy to the world (or at least to those who love runes)

Updated (2009-02-04) see red text and yet another update in green (2009-02-05)!

Good news from the National Heritage Board of (RAA) in Sweden; Runverket (The Rune agency) will get 2 trainees (link in Swedish). The posts are for five years and are open to those with a PhD in Scandinavian languages with a historic profile or a similar education. The aim is to develop new and deeper knowledge of runic writing, research rune stone makers, to do research on management and preservation, the climates impact etc.

Rune stone U 708
Rune stone U 708

These employments are possible by funds from Riksbankens jubileumsfond (the Bank of Sweden) and the Royal Swedish Academy of Letters, History and Antiquities.

I think this decision is one of the best news this year, so far, and I will salute it with a beer tonight (or I might just make a bridge to commemorate this decision).

I’d missed one thing; it is not two five-year openings but one for three years and one for two years.

My friend and colleague Johan from arkeologiforum.se informes me that it is 2 x 5 yrs after all; after the first two years there will an evaluation and if it falls out well then it will be another three years added. The more the merrier!

 

I’ve also been thinking about the term trainee;

In this case you’ll need a PhD to be qualified for the job. I personally connect the term trainee with something on a lesser level as a beginner or a novice. As I interpret the term trainee it is someone that is taught the trade from the inside, in this case I don’t feel that’s the case. Here RAA wants researchers to do research. Now learning and research is a lifelong process but when does the education stop and the work begin? To spend four years on post graduate program, getting a PhD and then get the title trainee feels a bit incapacitating in my view why not just call it a project employment or time limited employment as a runeologist.

Maybe I am in the wrong here; I’ll linger on it a bit longer and ponder over it for a while. Please leave a comment on your thoughts on this.

Don’t get me wrong; I’m still very pleased that Runverket gets more resources.

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

6 responses to “Joy to the world (or at least to those who love runes)

  • Damien C Boden

    Hello Magnus

    I do so hate to split hairs, but I have noticed your spelling of ‘LANGUAGE’ in a number of articles. You use the English word ‘LANGUISH’ which means to become feeble or lose intensity, which I sincerely hope never happens to your site!! All the best Damien (a British archaeologist living in Stockholm)

  • Magnus Reuterdahl

    Thanks I’ll check that out and try to make sure it doesn’t happen again. I blame Microsoft!

    Btw what do you do in Stockholm – work as an archaeologist, study or something completely different?

    Magnus

  • Johan

    It IS two 5-year openings. After the first two years they are evaluated and then it is decided if they work for another three years.

    • Magnus Reuterdahl

      Ok, the info differs a bit depending on the source, but I wouldn’t cry if it turns out to be 2 x 5 years.
      Magnus

  • Johan

    Who said otherwise? I talked to Karin Arvastson at The Swedish National Heritage Board and she said 2×5. You can also read here: http://www.rj.se/1/1015/var/newsID/131 Good news anyhow!