To Italy and back again

Been on a trip to Italy – that should be good for posts on archaeology and cultural history. Well, I’ve got some culture though the main purpose of the trip was another type of culture; wine. For the second time I’ve been at the European wine bloggers conference, this time around in Franciacorta. I’ll get back to you on that in the coming days, I’ve had time for some ruins but I also held a short speech on how to combine interests, in this case wine and archaeology.

 If you know your Tolkien you know the title I’ve paraphrased, when I got home I had several books waiting for me;

Påvel Nicklasson has written the bible on the beginning on Swedish archaeology in the book Att aldrig vandra vill – Johan Haquin Wallman. Sveriges förste arkeolog. (To never hike will – Johan Haquin Wallman. Swedens first archaeologist.) As the title says its an biography on the first archaeologist in Sweden, Johan Haquin Wallman (1792-1853). Though its not only a book on a man but also on the history of archaeology as a science and its birth in Sweden. I really look forward of reading this and will get back to you about it and Johan Haquin Wallman.

Secondly the annual archaeological journal Utskrift number 11 & 12 had arrived – lots of interesting articles on the archaeology in Halland a region in the southwest part of Sweden – these were sent to me to review on the blogg – many thanks to Kulturmiljö Halland.

Thirdly this years early Christmas present from the society Runica et Mediævalia. As always a bundle of joy:

  • Jan Rüdiger – Did Charlemagne know Carolingian kingship theory?
  • Olle Ferm & Erika Kihlman (eds) – Swedish students at the University of Vienna in the Middle Ages
  • Bero Magni de Ludosia – Sermones et Collationes. Sermons from the University of Vienna in the Mid-Fifteenth Century. (Edited and translated by Claes Gejrot & Erika Kihlman).

I also is working on Elin Fornanders dissertaion that is put forward at Stockholm University tomorrow.

 

Well, that’s whats on the bedstand the next coming days, weeks, months?

 

Magnus Reuterdahl


About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

7 responses to “To Italy and back again

