Field season 2011 is out & done

That was the last of the field season 2011, I’ve had a good season in Kalmar County and lately in Blekinge County. The Blekinge E22 excavations are really interesting and the results are fantastic – Mesolithic huts, settlements, work sites and amazing grave finds from the Neolithic, the Bronze Age and early Iron Age. It’ll be very interesting to see the reports in a few years as well possible exhibitions at Blekinge County museum in the future. There’s also a pretty hefty chance that the excavations aren’t really done and that there’s more to come next year.

I have a week off until I start my new job as an antiquarian (archaeologist) officer of the county administration in Härnösand, Västernorrland County. It’ll be interesting to get to know a new town and new colleagues but before that I’ll do another tour of southern Sweden – I’ll check in at the excavations of Jönköping castle in Jönköping, make two short stops in Blekinge, a short stop in Kalmar and on Öland the coming week. Then it’s off to Härnösand for a few days followed by a week in Italy where I’ll join the European wine bloggers conference in Franciacorta, I blog on wine as well – though in Swedish at Aqua Vitae.

I’ll write some words om my Smalandic journey next week as well as on Italy the coming weeks.

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

Comments are disabled.

