Evidence of olden day archaeology

Today I found an old envelope that gives evidence to the history of archaeology. On an envelope the address to a long gone 14C-laboratory is printed; Laboratoriet för radioaktiv datering Frescati, Stockholm 50.

I’m not quite sure how long it was opened for business though I know it was active during the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s and was used by archaeologists, it is mentioned several times in Fornvännen, for example in this issue from 1959, and the stamp on the envelope says 1977. So during that time span it was active – today it is no more, as far as I know – in other words a remain of olden day archaeology.

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

Comments are disabled.

