An era has ended

Archaeological Haecceities tells me that one of the most important archaeologists of the 20th century has passed away, Lewis Binford (1930-2011). Binford was an American archaeologist that was one of the leading archaeologist behind the New Archaeology, a positivistic type of archaeology that emerged in the late 50’s early 60s. New Archaeology later led to what we call processual archaeology. His contribution is mainly within the theoretical part of archaeology and though it perhaps didn’t begin with the anthology New Perspectives In Archaeology (1968) – written together with his wife at the time Sally Binford, that was oneof the important early works of Binford.

I’ve read several of Binford’s books but I’ve never had the opportunity to meet him. I think it’s time to pick up my well read copy of New Perspectives in Archaeology and give it a re-read.

A great archaeological force has passed away and with that I feel an era has ended. New Archaeology has perhaps played out its roll a long time ago. But it was a vital force that changed archaeology at the time and has since influenced us archaeologist in one way or another – now you truly are a part of history, our history as archaeologist.

Magnus Reuterdahl

 

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

Comments are disabled.

