Eight legged space pacer in imaginary space – a Christmas Carol

Let’s sit in front of the fire and I’ll tell you all a Christmas story…

…this Christmas a Christmas gift found its way to it meant receiver, me, after collecting dust for 35 years. Let’s start this story from the beginning. I was born in 1974 and my grandmother on my father’s side passed away in 1975, so I never really got an opportunity to get to know her. Sometime during 1975 she bought me a Christmas gift that for one reason or another never got to me. My father kept it and after a while he forgot all about it until a few years ago. This Christmas we decided it was time to open the long delayed present.

I thought that it might be some kiddie stuff for a one-year old or so, so I wasn’t all that excited… but to my surprise it was something really cool. And with a second thought it was as good that my father did forget about it; it was a Nomura toys battery operated eight legged Space Pacer, in mint condition. The box has a few minor rips but is all in all in good condition. Here are a few pictures:

To the right in this last picture is a sketch portraying my grandfather, on my father’s side, by local artist Paddock, sometime in the 50’s or 60’s.

Merry Christmas all

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

5 responses to “Eight legged space pacer in imaginary space – a Christmas Carol

  • Johan Levin

    Fan vad cool! Jag älskar sån retro-futuristisk design 😉

    God Jul !

  • Tomas Almstedt

    Hej Magnus,

    Vilken julklapp! Bättre än en hemstickad tröja som jag troligen fick av min farmor när jag var runt 1 år. Men jag har i alla fall en likadan Space Pacer, men som jag fick köpa för egna pengar 😉 I min saknas det tyvärr ett kugghjul (det som sitter på själva motorn) som gör att antennen snurrar och att den går framåt. Motor och allt fungerar så jag är lite sugen på att försöka få fram ett nytt kugghjul.
    Om du skulle orka och ha lust skulle jag verkligen uppskatta om du har möjlighet att maila en bild på mekaniken inuti din som fungerar. Om du har den kvar?

    God jul kanske är lite sent att säga nu, men grattis till den fina julklappen åtminstone.

    Mvh,
    Tomas

