No weather is good weather

Last week I was out excavating on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday and this week it continues.

On Wednesday I came the day after a snowstorm, then the problem was snow and the fact that the ground was frozen and therefore difficult to dig. On Thursday it was a bit warmer but it was moist and rainy therefore it was difficult to see structures and differences of colour in the earth. On Friday it was rainy and now the mud became muddy and slippery – making it difficult to move and so it became almost impossible to see what happened in the earth.

On the other hand if it’s sunny it’s either to warm or difficult to take photos due to shadows – So there seems no weather is really good weather for archaeology – though I warm spring or autumn day.

Well, the weather this weekend might prove to have been good to us as all the snow has melted which will make it easier to see the big picture. So I’ll keep my fingers cross for a dry week which will make my life a little bit better.

As an old Swedish saying goes: There are no bad weather only poor choices of clothes.

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

Comments are disabled.

