A letter of discontent

Discontent with the weather gods that is! Come storm, come rain, come thunder – whatever have I done to piss of the weather gods? The last few days I’ve been working a few miles east north east of Halmstad with a survey and it’s been pouring down, add to that winds of 15-20 m/s and some thunder and you don’t really want to be outdoors.

A Swedish saying goes “There’s no bad whether, only poor choice of clothes” – to that I say bah! double bah! and triple bah! Even if your rain coat happens to actually keep the rain from your body, they work like a sauna and you’ll end up wet anyways, and if you’re wet you’re bound to be cold – and so I got.

When you’re working outdoors during stormy days, it really wears you out, not so much the wind but the constant sound of the wind; it’s like working by a jet-engine all day long – and then you’ll need to keep a look out for falling branches and trees! After a day like this all you want is to get dry and warm – so I’ll go get myself another cup of coffee and pray for sunny day tomorrow.

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

2 responses to “A letter of discontent

