Triples of reptiles

I’ve returned from Växjö and is once again in Östersund, last week I’ve participated in two archaeological investigations; both in a fossil acres where our task was to seek traces of settlements within the acres and in one case to determine if a stone stetting really was a grave. In this case the stone setting was heavily damaged because stone had been taken from it for road construction, etc (in historic times) and due to uprooted trees. The weather was fine, the sun was warming and that was about 10-15 degrees celcius in other words nice spring weather.

During this time of year it really nice to be outdoors in the woods as everything is coming to life, the trees and grass is getting green, flowers appears, the air is filled with birdsong and you get see a lot of animals waking; this time I got see three different spices of reptilians;

An Adder (Vipera berus) which the only poisonous snake in Sweden living in the wild.

A lizard (Anguis fragilis) that looks like a snake, in Sweden known as Copper snake or Copper lizard.

And yet another lizard, that I don’t know the name of.

I quite often see or hear lizards as I roam around the country side, snakes and Copper lizards are more unusual though so it’s always nice to see one.

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

Comments are disabled.

