There is a light in the end of the tunnel

Finally spring seems to have gotten a grip on Scandinavia – the snow is slowly melting, the sun shows its warm face and shines upon us, at least occasionally; the darkness that have had a far too long run this year is withering.

Another sure sign is that one begins to plan for field work; as it seems now it’ll start just after Easter for me, from there on it’ll be a few weeks in the southern parts of Sweden – which is perfect as I probably will be able to catch Jonkoping Sodra first home game against Angelholm in Superettan (football (soccer) Sweden’s second division) April 20th.

Regarding the field work – I’ll let you know when I know for certain – but there seems to start with a survey and continue with a couple of archaeological investigations.

Though I have a lot of things to finish before that, I have an article that needs to be finished about Yangshao for the paper Kinarapport (China report) a report that needs to be finished for the Yangshaoproject, a small article for Benbiten the Swedish Osteological associations periodical – b.t.w. if you have an article on osteology, physical anthropology or an interesting find due to something bone connected as graves, settlements etc. you´re very welcome to contribute (for more information see here). We gladly accept articles in English as well as Swedish. I’ve also need to prepare for a lecture that my associate Johan Klange and I are to hold in Savona, Italy, later this spring about Chinese neolithic painted pottery traditions in the Yellow river valley.

On another note I found some nice prints to hang on my walls here in Ostersund, they been a bit naked. 6 of 9 reprints of Charta Marina aka Charta Gothica by Olaus Magnus (1497-1557). The original was made in 1539 and copies of that in 1572. This reprint is presumably from sometime during the 20th century – the frames are hideous but the maps fantastic.

The southern part of Sweden and Denmark

The northern part of Sweden Norway and Finland

Scotland, a small part of Britain and the Holland

 

Best wishes

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

Comments are disabled.

