J.D. – R.I.P.

J.D. Salinger has past away at age 91, an eccentric and legendary author best known for his Cather in the Rye (1951). Catcher is a great read but my favourites are his debut novel A Perfect Day for Bananafish (1948) and Franny and Zooey (1961).

Now Salinger is one of those authors that I got know long before I read anything of his work. My first real contact was in fact Ian Hamilton’s biography In Search of J.D. Salinger: A Writing Life (1935–65) from 1988 telling the tale of the author that did not want to be published disturbed or be known. This got me to read and buy and read Salinger’s body of work. It’s a fascinating tale that I’ll have to reread some day.

Rumours have it that Salinger never stopped writing and that several novels and as in any death speculations will arise if or when they’ll be published, there is also a risk or chance (depending on stand point) that Cather in the Rye makes it to the movies. In one way I would love to read more stories from Salinger on the other hand he choose not to publish them and to live out his life away from the public eye.

I hope he got the life he wanted – now R.I.P. –  J.D.

//Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

2 responses to “J.D. – R.I.P.

  • Steven Till

    The literary world has certainly lost a writing legend. I was thinking there was already an old movie version of Catcher in the Rye. Maybe I’m wrong about that.

    • Magnus Reuterdahl

      I don’t know of a film but I know many wanted to make one but there is an adaptation of Frankie and Zoey mad in Iran (of all places) though I never seen it.

