Booklets on Stockholm

At a small flee market I visit on and off on my way to lunch when in Östersund I found a couple of books or rather booklets on place-names by Gustaf Brynnel.

Gustaf Brynnel (1907-)

I didn’t recognize his name so I googled him but didn’t find all that much. He was a teacher working in Nacka outside of Stockholm and the booklets I found concerns the place-name Stockholm and the element stock (log).

Stock, Stocken, Stockholm – ett ortnamnselement i ny belysning. 1965 (Stock, Stocken, Stockholm – a new view on a place-name element).

Stockholm och andra stock-namn (Stockholm and other names with the element stock)(published by the author), originally published in Jordbrukarnas Föreningsblad (The farmers associations paper) nr 51-52, 1964.

Om ordelement stock i nordiska ortnamn och i fågelnamnet stockand (published by the author), 1965. (About the name-element stock in Nordic place-names and in the birdname stockand1 [anas boschas]).

I’ve only scanned through the pages; the author discusses what stock means. Does it mean log/s or does it refer to an area that is often flooded, Brynnel’s conclusion is the latter. As I understand the interpretation most believes in today is that it stems from the usage of log barriers in the waterfront.

I’ll return to these booklets as I have time to read them.

1)Stockand is according to the author a local name for Gräsand in Bohusläns county. Varaiations of the name can be found in Norway (Stokkand), Denmark (Stockand), Iceland (Stokkönd and Germany (Stockente).

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

Comments are disabled.

