A book on the ”father” of archaeology

In the mail today came the book; To wake the dead – a renaissance merchant and the birth of archaeology by Marina Belozerskaya (2009). Published by W.W. Norton & Company.

To wake the dead

I’ve yet to read it but it seems an interesting read about archaeology’s birth during the Italian renaissance and its “father” Cyrianus of Ancona (15th century merchant). Cyrianus of Ancona is news for me so it is with interest and curiosity I’ll read this book – I’ll get back to you with some words on the book in a few weeks.

This week and at least yet another I’ll work just north of Stockholm in Mellingeholm outside of Norrtalje.

Best wishes

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

3 responses to “A book on the ”father” of archaeology

  • WrriteAbout

    I’ll be interested in your report. The closest I’m aware of is Ciriaco De’ Pizzicolli aka Cyriacus of Ancona, a merchant (born in the 14th century) who marveled at the remanants of ancient Greek civilization and documented his impressions through drawings and copies of inscriptions. If this new book demonstrates a direct influence by this man on the later interest and development in archaeology, it would be a significant read for me.
    Regards,
    Stephen

  • Magnus Reuterdahl

    Hi,

    I’ll do my best to read it quickly

    Magnus

  • Paolo Ciuchini

    I remember that my professor of Roman History in Bologna gave us a lecture about Ciriaco De’ Pizzicolli. He grew up in a merchant family in Ancona, central Itay, in an atmosphere imbued with humanistic culture. He admired the Roman monuments, like the Arc of Trajan, he could observe in city.
    He soon grew concerned about the destiny of the material rests survived from the Classical Antiquity, and started to travel across the Mediterranean carrying out, alongside his trading business, a reckless activity of recording ancient monuments and copying and translating Greek and Roman inscriptions.
    What else could we say? He was an archaeologist. It was the first half of the 15th century.

