Northern and southern adventures

It’s getting colder and winter is approaching though I hope we still have some fine days left as the outdoor season is till open. We are experiencing temperatures in different ways, on the one hand it’s great that it becomes a bit chilly when you’re on the move in nature, on the other hand, it is nice to be indoors when the north wind blows.

I read recently that in 1883 there was a company in Sweden called Ebbes Bruk (Factory) which produced an express-heating device. If this machine was mounted in a church and fired up 3 hours before the church service, they ensured a pleasant indoor temperature of 8-10º Celsius during the winter months. Now I guess that in 1883 that was ok. But this shows that our need and our requirements for, for example heat is something that varies not only due to activity but also over time and space.

Tomorrow I go north again after a short trip to Aix-en-Provence, pictures and a few posts are pending, in France. Unfortunately I ate something bad and got a food poisoning due to which I’ve spent the last couple of days in a bit of haze. No worries I’ve gotten better by the hour but I’ve missed out on a few days of excavating. At present we (Arkeologicentrum) do an archaeological excavation in Holm parish of a Quartz quarry (Holm 226) some miles NW of Sundsvall.

I’ll get back to you on the excavation in Holm parish and on the trip to France.

best wishes

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

Comments are disabled.

