Snap shots of a city

I promised some pictures from Ostersund here they are

8os

This is where it all happens – Arkeologicentrum  HQ– still a diamond in the rough but its getting there.

1os

Now this is a bit like Ostersund, it is what I would call a cozy town with lots of old houses, Some are in good condition other a bit rough mixed with buildings from the 60’s, 70’s and more contemporary ones. I really like this mix of old and new, of fine finish and roughness etc.

3os

7os

9os

4os

Still wherever you are you feel close to nature.

5os

Jamtli – the county museum (I’ll come back to this at a later time) but also my home temporary home (still haven’t found a place to live yet), just to the left of the big builing.

And finally a glimpse of Storsjon (the Great lake) home to Swedens own Nessie Storsjöodjuret (the Great Lake Monster) – sorry shes nowhere to be seen on my pictures.

6os

Well I’ll get back to you with more pictures and perhaps better ones.

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

6 responses to “Snap shots of a city

  • Beetype

    Så.. du tog jobbet som jag tackade nej till. Gratulerar!

  • Leif

    Mitt intryck av Östersund baseras på o-ringen som gick av stapeln där för lite drygt 20 år sedan. Fy helvete vad kallt det kan blåsa från Storsjön mitt i sommaren.

    Aldrig igen….

    • Magnus Reuterdahl

      Kanske därför det är tätt mellan krogarna – en styrketår för att värma frusna händer och fötter på väg hemåt. Men kalla vindar borde du väl vara van vid när nordan drog över vättern?

      • Leif

        Vissa saker vänjer man sig inte vid trots att man utstått dem, men nu jag har lämnat vätterns stränder. Tackar vet jag Lygnerns lugn..

      • Magnus Reuterdahl

        Det gäller att hitta sitt eget lilla paradis, men jag är ganska anpassbar – jag har överlevt alla årstider i Jönköping, Växjö, Leksand och Stockholm, höst-vår i Luleå men visst vore det skönt att sätta rötter någonstans.

