Romance of the living dead

Pride and prejudice and zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith

It’s seldom I get excited by a book without knowing much about it but a crossover between Jane Austen and George A. Romero seems so unlikely that this a must read for me. Just look at the cover and say that this isn’t what you crave, what you know, what you need; One part rotted flesh, one part brain substance, one part guts, one part romance and of course a red heart –  put in the mixer  – now colour me blood read and throw a blood feast, I wanna read…

14s04rombok_jpg_903219b  

The book opens with the lines “It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains” and is said to be an expanded (enhanced?) edition of the beloved Jane Austen novel Pride and Prejudice featuring all-new scenes of bone-crunching zombie mayhem.

 

 

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

4 responses to “Romance of the living dead

  • Leif

    I guess my forthcomming article in “In Situ” about prehistoric Zombies and how they dealt with the undead is a must read for you….. I even found some appropriate quotations by Bruce “evil dead” Campbell to accompany the text.

    • Magnus Reuterdahl

      Now you’re quite right that it seems like a must read for me. Zombies, the undead and dealing with funerary rites seems like good enough reasons to go into a reading frenzy and when spiced with Bruce Campbell quotations it becomes more of need to read. All that’s missing now is a quote from the grandfather of zombie cinema George A Romero, so I’ll supply you with two; “I also have always liked the monster within idea. I like the zombies being us. Zombies are the blue-collar monsters” & “When there is no more room in Hell, the dead will walk the earth” George A Romero (Dawn of the dead 1978).

      Btw I highly recommend Bruce’s autobiography; If Chins Could Kill: Confessions of a B Movie Actor.

  • Leif

    I´ve got a signed copy of Bruce´s autobiography.

  • Leif

    I mailed a late proof of the zombie text. I think it will appear from the press before midsummer.

