Moving on

I switching lanes from the public sector to the private. Last year I had five employers this year I’m up to two, it’s not without reason archaeologist sometimes feels like soldiers of fortune;

My new employer is Arkeologicentrum (link in Swedish), based in Ostersund but working all over Sweden. Though some pieces are still missing it is decided that I begin my employment on May 4th. As it is ca 500 km between Stockholm and Ostersund compeered to ca 1000 km between Stockholm and Lulea so I’ve cut my weekly travels in half, though I probably won’t be taking the tour to Ostersund every week. Most jobs will be surveying areas that might be exploited due to wind power stations in different parts of Sweden which means lots and lots of travel to different parts of Sweden and lots and lots of fresh air, cultural heritage, ancient monuments etc. – you know all the things that make me go… and makes great pictures ops for this here blog.

So it’s;

Bye bye Lulea (for this time around) hello Ostersund

Bw

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

3 responses to “Moving on

  • ArchAsa

    Personally I’ve always felt that we are the modern aquivalent of “statare”, landless workers moving from employer to employer during the summer and starving during winter…
    I’ve always felt we should have caravans and move in group so that we can help taking care of all ou children and support each other when work is scarce.

    I’m glad to see AC is employing an archaeologist with experience from many different parts of Sweden. Good luck.

  • Leif

    If you are passing southern västergötland/northern Halland you already know were I live.

    A serious problem with private actors carrying out “frivilliga utredningar” and MKBs is that the information from these activities seldom reach the regional archive as with ordinary excavations. Windpower mills are often situated in areas which we have little or no archaeologichal knowledge of. Therefore every tiny bit of knowledge is of great (regional) importance. So please get the Edwingers to start sending all their reports to the local archives. It will most probably give them a great deal of good-will, something they lack at the moment….

    • Magnus Reuterdahl

      @Asa – That’s a thought! Statare is as good a metaphor as soldiers of fortune, though I rather have fortune than living in penury.

      @Leif – That I do (know where you live) – and don’t be suprised if I come a knocking/calling. I do agree with you regarding the information bit and I’ll see if I can be a positive influence regarding that. If nothing else some info is bound to end up here.

