Quotations

On occasion I find quotations or anecdotes that make me interested in a person or the persons work; today I did so.

The person in question is Brendan Behan (1923 – 1964), he was an Irish poet, short story writer, novelist, and playwright who wrote in both Irish and English. He was also a committed Irish Republican and a volunteer in the I.R.A.

brendan-behan

Quote:

  • I only drink on two occasions – when I’m thirsty and when I’m not

 

 

Anecdots;

  • Behan was once hired to write an advertising slogan for Guinness. As part of his payment for this, the company offered him half a dozen kegs of their stout. After a month the company asked Behan what he had come up with; Behan had already managed to drink all of the beer they had given him and hurriedly produced the slogan: ‘Guinness Makes You Drunk’. Not surprisingly he didn’t win the contract.           
  • His last words is said to have been –  to several nuns standing over his death bed; ‘God bless you, and may your sons all be bishops.’

Now I’ve never heard of the him before but I feel obliged to read up on him and his work.

Any starter tips/must reads would be nice!

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

One response to “Quotations

  • Topics about Beer » Quotations

    […] Testimony of the spade added an interesting post today on QuotationsHere’s a small readingOn occasion I find quotations or anecdotes that make me interested in a person or the persons work; today I did so. The person in question is Brendan Behan (1923 – 1964), he was an Irish poet, short story writer, novelist, and playwright who wrote in both Irish and English. He was also a committed Irish Republican and a volunteer in the I.R.A. Quote: “ I only drink on two occasions – when I’m thirsty and when I’m not “     Anecdots; Behan was once hired to wr […]

