Day before Christmas

The Christmas vacation has been on for a few days and it’s been spent travelling, eating and shopping. I really don’t shop for Christmas gifts all that much, mostly a few small presents to my family and a little more for my nieces and nephews. But I do take time to buy some things for myself; mostly books and fine wines (see Aqua vitae blog in Swedish).

I usually use this time of the year to read some novels and this year I’d been recommended the Irish author Ken Bruen. I picked up the Killing of the tinkers; a hardboiled noir crime novel that begins with a Thin Lizzy reference (just lovin’ that).

I love the style this novel is written in, I love the authors languish and the dark moods that runs throughout the story; maybe not Christmassy but a damn good read.

bruen

A fellah I met on the Kilburn High Road had asked me if I was a social drinker. I’d said,

“No, what about yourself?”

“I’m a social security drinker.”

Now to books that has been incorporated in my library (me Christmas presents to self);

Beskrivning om swenska hemman och lägenheter (Accounts on Swedish homesteads and real estates) by Barthold Nystrom 1784. A book on the laws and regulations of homesteads and real estates in Sweden.

 svenska_hemman_och_lagenheter

On the cover is proof of several of its owners..

 svenska_hemman_och_lagenheter2

and on the inside of the cover is the evidence of yet another previous owner; the ex libris of Gustaf Elgenstierna (1871-1948) (link in Swedish).

Next in line is Beskrifning av Örebro län (An account on Örebro County) by Wilhelm Tham 1849.

orebro-lan

Then a nice little thing called Ett år i Sverige (A year in Sweden) – Taflor af Svenska Almogens klädedrägt och hemseder samt de för landet historia märkvärdigaste orter (Paintings/drawings of Swedish peasant costume and culture and important historic places), text by A Grafstom 1864 and drawings/paintings by J. G. Sandberg.

 gripsholms-slott

Illustration of Gripsholm castle from Ett år i Sverige.

I like ancient and historic maps and En krönika om kartor över Sverige (A chronicle of maps on Sweden) by Einar Bratt 1958 is a book about just that.

 en_kronika_om_kartor_over_sverige

Finally I got this little almanac dating to the year 1780.

almanack_1780

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

Comments are disabled.

