Doomsday came smashing down!

I’m sorry to say that this spot didn’t go to me, now I’ll linger on this for a while and I think that it’s time to change course, to find a new angle, to start over from zero. I’ll put it out of mind for now ‘cause tomorrow afternoon my holiday vacation starts and I think it’s best to let it rest for a few weeks. Then I’ll use January to start thinking on a new project plan, other questions and constructing a new application.

But as blows hits you on one cheek possibilities hits you on another – I’ve got my employment at the county administrative board in Norrbotten prolonged until March 31st.

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

8 responses to “Doomsday came smashing down!

  • Charlotte

    Ouch – bad luck 😦 Hope the next application gets a more positive response. At least you’ve got a bit of time to work out your next steps before your job finishes.

  • Magnus Reuterdahl

    Well it’s not the end of the world, as you say I do have some time to think and reboot, and it’s not the time to get gloomy but jolly – the Christmas vacation starts at 5 pm.

  • ArchAsa

    Bah! Stockholm is humbug anyway.
    If I were you I’d start snooping around the ecological departments and other such like. Your background in osteology and archaeology can be a valuable contribution to larger projects dealing with human choices and ecological impacts, and historical changes. Supplying the humanities perspective in more high profile scientific projects is actually something in demand in these inter-disciplinary times. Hard to know where to start though.

    Merry x-mas from a bysmal rainy grey Uppsala

  • Leif Häggström

    Damn pity!

    But I have the skeleton of a young vixen that you can have, but only if it cheers you up… Contact me if it sounds interesting….

  • Magnus Reuterdahl

    That would cheer me up! I would love a little vixen (sorry Anne don’t get jealous), I am going to get some other bones for Christmas anyways on Saturday or Sunday in Borås so this could be a good day for more bone collection if possible. Send me an e-mail on inventerare[delete_this]@hotmail.com with your phone number so that we can arrange a time.

    Now me is happy as a pup

    M

  • Alun

    I’m sorry to hear that too. Have you considered a PhD by distance learning?

  • Magnus Reuterdahl

    PhD by distance learning is nothing I’ve really thought of but that could be interesting, I’ll check i out.

    Merry Christmas!

