Digging comics?

I loved comics since I was a child and I still love them. My taste has changed somewhat over the years, during the 90’s I worked in a second hand shop that sold books, records and comics. This gave me a wide education in the history of comics and at one point in time I had quite a collection of rare editions. Most have been sold over the years due to other interests and lack of space. Sometimes you get the chance to buy them again in other formats and I found this a few months ago, a real bargain if you like underground comics. This 2 in 1 edition contains The best of Bijou funnies and The Apex Treasury of Underground comics.

This 160 + 192 p edition was originally released in 1975 and reissued in 1981. It contains classic artists and characters, in the Bijou part one can find Robert Crumb’s Projunior & Honeybunch,  Jay Lynch’s Nard n’ Pat, Skip Williamson’s Snappy Sammy’s, Justin Green’s Little Poo Poo and in the Apex part Robert Crumb’s Whiteman and Lenore Goldberg an her girl commandos, Art Spiegelman’s Maus, Gilbert Shelton’s amazing Freak brothers and Fat Freddy’s cat (my fav among these) among several others. These comics were made during the last years of the 60’s and the early 70’s and contain full frontal nudity, drugs and a lot of psychedelica but also politics and artistry mixed up with a great potion of love. These comics are an important but often forgotten part of the psycadelic 60’s as well as the music and flower power movement. These comics reflect the era and the environment in which they were created and thus are yet another illustration of the psychedelic experience.

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

2 responses to “Digging comics?

