An oddity in FMIS

Is an UFO landing site an ancient remain or monument ? – Yes, according to the National Heritage Board (NHB).

As I read through some old posts at arkeologiforum.se (A Swedish forum on Archaeology) I ran into a post I previously missed. David, a fellow forumer, delivers an unlikely register post in FMIS, the NHB’s database over ancient monuments and remains, that describs a landing site for an UFO;

Strövelstorp 47:1, Skåne (Scania) near Ängelholm.

The information text goes as follows:

A monument, consisting of an inclosed, level surface, 22 meters in diameter. In the center of the area is a model of a space craft (a flying saucer) made out of concrete and bronze. The model is made in the scale 1:8 according to information received. In the area are cast concrete placed in the markings left by the space craft while landing and starting may 18th 1946. The informant claims to be an eyewitness of the event. 

Check out the photos here and here.

When one studies large databases one will always find odd files or postings such as this. Though I think they are fun I am not sure that they really have a place in register such as FMIS, but it is sure one for the conspiracy theorists out there; the government hides UFO-information among filings of ancient monuments and remains.

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

2 responses to “An oddity in FMIS

  • steve haggstrom

    first time i ever heard of this monument..great story……..could you please tell me where i can get more information..Steve in wisconsin..thank you

    • Magnus Reuterdahl

      Hallo Steve

      I’ll look into it and get back to you though I’m not sure there is very much other that what’s in the post.

