New header and profile: City wall of Xi’an

I made an update of the profile and the header last night, on the picture is a part of the city wall of Xi’an, in Shaanxi. It is one of the most complete city walls that has survived in China. It was build by the first emperor of the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644) Zhu Yuanzhang (emperor between 1370-1378 AD).The wall is ca 12 meters tall, 12-14 meters wide at the top and 15-18 meters thick at the bottom and is ca 13.7 kilometers in length, surrounding it is a deep moat. Every 120 meters there is a rampart which extends out from the main wall, in total there are 98 ramparts on the wall. The wall is a Unesco World Heritage since 1996.

This picture was taken as I visited Xi’an in 2006 together with Johan Klange on one our travels with the Yangshao project. I’ll add a few more pictures when I return to Stockholm by the end of the week.

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

One response to “New header and profile: City wall of Xi’an

  • RaiulBaztepo

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

