Mutating Genre Meme

A blogging and scientific experiment.

There are a set of questions below that are all of the form, “The best [subgenre] in [genre] is …”.
Copy the questions, and before answering them, you may modify them in a limited way, carrying out no more than two of these operations:

• You can leave them exactly as is.
• You can delete any one question.
• You can mutate either the genre, medium, or subgenre of any one question. For instance, you could change “The best time travel novel in SF/Fantasy is…” to “The best time travel novel in Westerns is…”, or “The best time travel movie in SF/Fantasy is…:, or “The best romance novel in SF/Fantasy is…”.
• You can add a completely new question of your choice to the end of the list, as long as it is still in the form “The best [subgenre] in [genre] is…”.
You must have at least one question in your set, or you’ve gone extinct, and you must be able to answer it yourself, or you’re not viable.
Then answer your possibly mutant set of questions. Please do include a link back to the “parent” blog you got them from, e.g. Life before death, to simplify tracing the ancestry, and include these instructions.

Finally, pass it along to any number of your fellow bloggers. Remember, though, your success as a Darwinian replicator is going to be measured by the propagation of your variants, which is going to be a function of both the interest your well-honed questions generate and the number of successful attempts at reproducing them.

1. The best epic novel in cosy catastrophic SF/Fantasy/ is: “Day of the triffids” by John Wyndham
2. The best I don’t give a damn song in punk/rock is: “Now I wanna go sniff some glue” by the Ramones
3. The best cult comics in fantasy is: “Preacher” by writer Garth Ennis and artist Steve Dillon

My ancestor 1 is Metamagician and the Hellfire Club.

My ancestor 2 is The Flying Trilobite

My ancestor 3 is Life Before Death.

My ancestor 4 is Aardvarchaeology

My ancestor 5 is Ting och tankar

I call upon the following to produce the next “offspring”:
De saktmodiga får hugnas bäst de vill

Nymordernism

http://scienceblogs.com/mt/pings/52790

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

5 responses to “Mutating Genre Meme

  • Aleph

    Intressant… Jag hänger på under dagen!

  • Åsa

    Garth Ennis is an excellent choice (big fan of his Hellblazer-episodes myself) – as is the Ramones!
    I am happy to see that I have such a promising offspring 😉

  • Magnus Reuterdahl

    It sure makes the offspring proud to please the spawn of its existence, and yes Hellblazer is the shit!

  • ArchAsa

    The movie Hellblazer however I have REFUSED to see. I don’t generally take adaptations that seriously, I can appreciate them even if they cannot reach the pinnacle of its original medium (like V for Vendetta). But making a movie about the middle aged, bitter and cynical, down on his luck and aged post-punk ENGLISH TO THE CORE anti-hero and casting Keanu Reeves!!!! I loved him in Matrix and all, but what possessed them to think a Yankee that makes a convincing android was right for the part??? Like casting Bruce Willis in the part of James Bond.

    How do you feel about the approaching Hitman-adaptation? Read the comic? Fear the result?

  • Magnus Reuterdahl

    Like you I am not terrible fond of most comic adaptations, there are a few exceptions; I liked Hellboy and Sin City though I fear Hitman will loose some of the edge when transferred from paper to the silver screen. By the way there are rumours about a Preacher TV-series by HBO. HBO has produced some quality shows like one of my favourites OZ, and they don’t seem to be bothered by violence, nudity, profanity or exploitation so they might make it work, though I doubt it.

    I don’t know if you remember a comic called the Destroyer (på svenska hette den Remo) it was made into a picture in 1985 called Remo Williams: The Adventure Begins (Remo – obeväpnad men livsfarlig) If I remember correctly this isn’t much of a film, but this I think could work. Give me a remake.

    Trailer to Hitman

