This is what I currently read

I often read several books simultaneously sometimes this is due to necessity, the second title in this post can be put in this cathegory. The book is about roads and is read due to a report I am currently writing, often this might be books that I would otherwise overlook as they might not concur with my main interests. Well this is what lays open on my bed stand at the moment. 

Det förflutna är att räkna med. [Ed. Lars Ersgård] 2006. (A scientific programme from UV (the department of excavations at the NHB(RAA)). In this book the NHB wants to formulate a new research strategy to make the exploration archaeology more legible in today’s society. To manifest a common scientific identity and to present a number of archaeological themes that is in the process of research. Besides this it aims to be a source of inspiration for archaeologists.

So far I have found this to be both inspirational, interesting and well written. Among the authors are Tore Artelius, Lars Ersgård and mats Anglert.

Published by Riksantikvarieämbetet (NHB).

Vägars kulturvärden 1997 – Mia Andersson. This is a book about roads and its values as cultural markers. What happens when we change a road? What information of the past can a road give us?

Besides a lot of nice pictures, one can find a summery of the history of roads and travel on land and how this have changed the landscape but also which remains that reminds us of times gone by as mile stones, avenues, rune stones, grave fields etc. A nice book that in part is a little bit to much of a coffee table book but in parts is relevant and filled with interesting thoughts and facts.

Published by Riksantikvarieämbetet (NHB).

Tecknens rike – Cecilia Lindqvist 1989. This is a book about the Chinese civilization and the Chinese ideograms.

This is a very intresting book that uses the ideograms as a fix point to describe the Chinese history. I have been reading this book quite slowly. As I’ve progressed I have written some lines about it (in Swedish) at my other blog Yangshao projektet. As I begun I thought that the book would be more “historic” than it is, in reality there is quite a lot o prehistory as well.

If you’re interested in Chinese ideograms, Chinese history or/and prehistory this is a fun, interesting and well written book.

This book is available in English under the title; China: Empire of Living Symbols.

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

Comments are disabled.

