Detective work concerning Sm 6

I will have to visit Skatelövs church, in Skatelövs parish.The other day I got a question via arkeologiforum ( a Swedish forum for archaeology, we’ve been talking about an international section, if or when it opens I let you all know) regarding the whereabouts of the rune stone Sm 6 (Raa 400:1 in Skatelövs parish). In FMIS (the National Heritage Boards database of ancient monuments and remains) it is stated that the rune stone that was found when the old church of Skatelöv were demolished in 1820 is in the collections at Smålands Museum (Museum of Smaland). A few years ago it was moved to the new church in Skatelöv.

When I got the question I was pretty sure it had been moved but I was not sure (now I am), I went into my photo database to see if I could find a photo of the rune stone but I couldn’t. So I googled it, and found a picture here. I’ll have to go get a photo of my own. Besides the rune stone there should also be two picture stones, also found when the old church was demolished, that I believe are on display in the “new” church.

I’ll go check this out after work sometime soon and write a post about it.

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

One response to “Detective work concerning Sm 6

