Back at the office!

Monday morning and my vacation is over for this time. The first part of the project is done; I have visited all the sites and monuments that we worked on last year. In general the result is fine, on some sites new damages have come up due to the storm Per in 2007 and due to reforesting. Within this project I will also visit and try to describe how the immediate surroundings around rock carvings have been affected, how cultural and ancient monuments close to small roads in storm afflicted areas has been affected and I will also visit some areas with fossilized acres to describe how the reforesting has affected the relics within these areas.

Söraby 26:1

A monumental cairn in the north part the Borlanda grave field, in Söraby parish, raa 26. 

Finally we have some money for at least one grave field where we would like to make an effort at restoring it so it once again can be accessible for the public.

Söraby 26 2

The midsection of Borlanda grave field. In the background the cairn, by the trees one can catch a glimpse of two ship-formed stone settings.

Söraby 26 3

Photo from the midsection of the grave field towards south.

More to come…

Magnus Reuterdahl  

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

4 responses to “Back at the office!

  • Darcy Mathews

    Hi Magnus,

    Great blog – I’m an archaeologist in British Columbia, Canada and I’m studying burial cairns and mounds here, which look rather like the ones you are working with. I’m wondering if you have any published information or reports you might share on the Borlanda grave fields?

    Regards,
    Darcy Mathews

    • Magnus Reuterdahl

      Hi Darcy

      I’ve not written any myself regarding the Borlanda grave field but I’ll see if I’ll find some for you written by others. How old are the cairns and mounds you study?

      Magnus

  • Darcy

    Hi Magnus,

    Thanks i would appreciate any references you could come up with – this sounds like a fascinating site. The burial cairns and mounds I’m working with date between about 1500-500 BP. I’m recording several cemeteries, ranging in size from a dozen features to one cemetery with 333 burial cairns and mounds.
    Darcy

  • Intressant om min ”hemby” Borlanda | Familjeskogsbrukaren

    […] viaBack at the office! | Testimony of the spade. […]

