Back in the blogging groove

Now I am back in Sweden but the computer I currently operate hasn’t got a SD-card reader and therefore I can’t yet show any pictures from my trip to Germany. As I mentioned I my previous post I and my girlfriend visited a few interesting sites, among them an amphie theatre in Trier we also visited the dome and saw the basilica of Konstantin which was build ca 300 AD.

basilica of Konstantin in Trier A pic of the basilica of Konstantin in Trier.

amphie theatre

The amphie theatre in Trier, in a few days a concert is to be held and that of course disturbs the picture.

Under the amphie theatre

It was possible to go in under the theater and watch the constructions.

The Dome in Trier

The Dome in Trier, this was quite a mighty structure and it was diffcult to get a picture that shows some of its might, this is taken from the southwest corner.

We also visited the ruins of Kyrburg castle in Kirn and the castle in Dhaun that is partly restored and hosts a hotel/hostel, both beautiful sites.

ruins of a Kyrburg castle in Kirn

Ruin of Kyrburg castle in Kirn

ruins of Kyrburg castle in Kirn 2

A close up of the ruin of Kyrburg castle in Kirn

Dhaun Castle

The Castle of Dhaun, the visible “tower” is open for tourists, see pics below.

Inside Dhaun Castle  Inside Dhaun castle 2

Inside the castle

Dhaun castle 2

 Some parts are still habitable…

A ruin at Dhaun Castle

…and some parts are not.

We also visited Ribe in Denmark, where we had a quick look at the Viking museum and walked through the old town with its historic and middle age buildings. Ribe is a beautiful town that I wished that we had more time for; we’ll make time for the next time we are in the neighbourhood. As well as Danevirke, Haithabu and the other interesting sites that is nearby. I at least got to see the runic inscription (DR EM85;151B $ ) made upon a piece of a human ossa parietale (I am not a 100% sure it also could be a piece of the ossa frontale) (a piece of a human skull bone) that was found in Ribe.

DR EM85;151B $

The inscription is as follows:

ulfuR Auk uþin Auk HutiuR ‘ HiAlb buris ‘ uiþR  þAiMA uiArki Auk tuirkuniG buur

ulfuR Auk uþin Auk HutiuR ‘ HiAlb buri (i)s uiþR þAimA uiArki Auk tuirkuniu buur

ulfuR Auk uþin Auk HutiuR ‘ HiAlb buri (i)s uiþR ¶ þAiMA uiArki Auk tuirk unin buur

Translated to English:

Ulfr and Óðinn and Hydyr … … against that pain and … …

Ulfúrr and Óðinn and Hátyr are help for Burr against these: pain and dwarfstroke. Burr

Ulfr and Óðinn and Há-<tiuR>. Help is <buri> against that pain. And the dwarf (is) conquered. Bour(r).

The translation and transliteration is taken from Samnordiskruntextdatabas 2.0.

Viking museum in Ribe

A pic from inside the Ribe Viking museum, watch out for the cool whale vertebrae.

Tomorrow it’s off to Värmland to celebrate the Midsummer Eve, unfortunately I won’t have access to a computer there so I won’t be able to post until Sunday. If I have time I will visit an archaeological excavation in Jönköping tomorrow and perhaps take a few pictures for the blog.

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

3 responses to “Back in the blogging groove

  • Dag 2: Leiwen och Trier. « Aqua vitae - livets vatten

    […] Fler bilder från Trier finns att se på en av mina andra bloggar Testimony of the spade.  […]

  • Sista kapitlet rörande vinresan 2007. « Aqua vitae - livets vatten

    […] Vi besökte ett antal utflyktsmål i och kring Moseldalen och Nahe om vilken den intresserad kan läsa om här. […]

  • Richard P. Burian

    Recently I read about a translation from Sweden for the Runic character “x” to mean “gift”. The Burjan Kingdom (Marduan Princedom) by Kazan Russia (~747 AD) practiced “Nardugan”, or the “Winter Festival” on Dec. 25. They decorated a tree and exchanged gifts. The hiliday was represented by the Runic character “x”. I believe this is the source for the Runic “x” in Sweden. Does anyone agree?

    These same Burjans (ie. Burdjan, Burian (me), Burzan, Buryan + others) are also the same, and I believe, source for the 1st Nordic god “Buri”. Buri and his son’s Woden (Odin,Oden) and Bor (Borr) can also be derived from the same. Does anyone agree?

    Are there any ‘known” settlements traceble as such in norther countries?

    The name Denmark is Latin for Daci. Denmark history indicate Dacians as there oldest known kings. Now Daci, from Daos (I think) means “wolf”. Thus, does Denmark translate as “wolf”?

    Burjans’ are “wolf-warriors” and also can be traced to Dacia via the Germanic “Buri” tribe, that claims its name comes from the same Nordic god, Buri. I believe the Boii (Bohemia as Home of the Boii) may actually be Buri tribe (by Berlin) and that Boii and Buri are the same. Does everyone agree? Were Boii or Buri settlements indentified in Nordic regions anywhere?

    Thanks for the link, I’m having some difficulty with the translation of the Ribe inscriptions and, Burr, buri, and Bour(r). One version of Buri is also Bouri. Buri as Lugi-Buri can be found on Ptolomy maps from ~100AD. Can anyone help on the meaning of these spellings. Also, the translation link page didn’t open for me so I thought I would add these questions too.

    If I’m correct, The Nordic Buri originated ~20,000 BC with the Buryan tribe of Siberia (Lake Baikal) and migrated into Nordic terriories thereafter. Not simple though, as thes people went through Anatolia first (about the time of Troy) where the gods Odin and Bor were fashioned. Note Greek Boreas from Bor meaning “North”. Thus, Buri was the Great-Grandfather of Nordic dieties. Does anyone agree?

    Because this may be pushing the research envelope, I’m open to comments and/or blogs on these topics. I would also appreciate “honorable mention” if my reasoning lends to newer concepts or interpretation of existing artifacts as it has taken many years of research to be able to ask these questions.

    Thanks for the web images and data on your web page. Hope to here comments so feel free to e-mail me or forwarding my comments to others. I’m also going to try to publish a book at the end of the year to encompass my research on this subject. I think it will be titled “the “Grand Global Genome” as I believe I’ve traced my name to an American Indian tribe “Atsina” who came here about 200B.C. fleeing the Huns (who originate also from the Buryans of Siberia). Thus, my genes have travelled both east and west, and then reunited in America as of the same race, although noboby has demonstrated this with any name yet, to my knowledeg. Atsena (Atsina) tribe is also wolf-goddess tribe as is the she-wolf goddess Asesna of the Central Asian Gok-Turks, or Blue-Turks. The color I believe comes from the sky as Buryan transltes to “Sky-God” and Buryans were a wolf-people anyway, too. Thus, this does make sense. Any comments?

    Best wishes, R. Burian

