Hemmesjö old church and some cremated bone.

One of my interests is medieval churches (foremost I like to crawl through the addicts and look at the roof constructions). One of the most beautiful medieval churches in Småland is the old church at Hemmesjö, in Hemmesjö parish. The most beautiful thing about it is its location, and I really couldn’t get a good photo so if you want to see it you’ll have to visit it.

Hemmesjö ka apse

I took a couple of photos on some details however, the first photo is taken from northeast and shows the apse. The next two photos are of the two entrance doors, here both the northern and southern entrance are in place and both are decorated with medieval smithery. The north door is said to have been the entrance for women and the south for men.

South door Hemmesjö kyrka North door Hemmesjö kyrka

To the left the south door and to the right the north.

Sakristia Hemmesjö kyrka

The entrance to the roof was as you can see not accessible for me at this time.

At the time I visited this church it was open which was a bit lucky as this is not always the case now days as too many churches has been robbed during the last years. A beautiful Romanesque baptismal font with fabulous animals on is one of the sights another the altar screen from the 16th century. The church was built in the 12th century and was abandoned in 1850’s. It was restored in the 1920’s and has been maintained since then.

Romanesque baptismal font

Romanesque baptismal font.

Earlier that day I had visited a few graves, small Cairns probably from the early Iron Age that had been damaged by the storm Per earlier in 2007. In one of the graves a tree had been rooted up and within the damaged area I found some fragments of cremated bones. Hopefully we can get some money to restore or excavate this grave. As I only found a few fragments and no coal or artifacts there is probably any need for an excavation, in this case I believe its better to restore it so as much of the scientific values are safe for the future.

Cremated bone fragment

On the photo a small piece of cremated bone, the suture shows that it is from a cranium and this is most likely human.

Upheaved roots in a grave

The damage of up heaved roots.

//Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

4 responses to “Hemmesjö old church and some cremated bone.

  • Tryggve Lund

    en fråga om hemmesjö, jag tyckte när jag cyklade förbi hemmesjö idag, att det såg ut som ett hus just före/efter kyrkan på huvudvägen hade en gravhögsliknande kulle precis brevid huset, med några fina lövträd växande på sig. känner du till om det är det?

    för mig förefaller det som om många av de första kyrkorna lades på ställen med mycket religös aktivitet från förum, så det hade varit roligt att höra om så är fallet i hemmesjö också… :-j

  • Magnus Reuterdahl

    Hej Tryggve

    Befinner mig förtillfället på resande fot och har inte någon karta att kolla på. Men om jag minns rätt finns det en skadad grav ca 3-500 meter söder om kyrkan på den östra sidan av vägen, denna är skadad av grusväg som går ned till en gård öster om vägen. Är dock inte helt säker på om min minnesbild är korrekt. Jag misstänker dock att den “kulle” du menar ligger närmare kyrkan, återkommer när jag kollat FMIS(fornminnesregistret).

    Mvh

    Magnus

  • Tryggve

    Hej, jag besökte hemmesjö igen (tre kilometer från vårat hus…) det är så otroligt ställe att jag blir helt bortblåst… Om man bara kunde hitta ett hus där att bo i.. :-j

    Jag ska titta efter den kullen du skrev om nästa gång jag åker förbi,spännande. Den kullen jag tänker på ligger längre bort ifrån kyrkan, sydåt längs med vägen, det är nästan bara en knöl med några oerhört vackra lövträd växande på den, men eftersom den sticker upp ur landskapen på ett så lustigt sätt så kan jag inte föreställa mig att det är något annat. Jag ska försöka komma ihåg kameran när jag passerar förbi nästa gång.

    Tack för svar!

  • Seminary XXXIV: bits of breviary and conversion-era piety in Sweden « A Corner of Tenth-Century Europe

    […] not much Church in Småland in the twelfth century, the area’s new to conversion, what churches that archaeology has been able to find are small and basic, and yet these texts, almost all of which bear musical notation, bespeak a high level of training […]

