After the games been played

As we’re in the middle of a fantastic European football championship and one can watch top match after match delivered as they were produced on a conveyor belt – it’s kind of hard imagine a time with less or no top football to watch – though we all know it’s lurking there just around the corner. With several months for the next Champions league, Premier League, La Liga, Bundesliga or Italian Serie A and then again years for the next World or European championship.

In Sweden we can still enjoy football during the summer as Allsvenskan (Swedish first division) and Superettan (Swedish second division) etc. runs its course during this part of the year (though I wont claim it’s great football) and still here is my love in the football world – Jönköping Södra IF aka J-Södra, somewhere in the middle of the second division. And though it seems every season gives cause for a heart attack as they seems be stuck around relegation line to the lower divisions.

Stadsparksvallen in Jönköping

Stadsparksvallen in Jönköping, just before the season started 2012

It then you realize there are always those have it worse. This midsummer I spent in the small community Långban in Värmland. This village was mining community that had its hay day before 1972 when the mines closed down.

And there while taking a walk I saw what was left of a someones dream, someones favourite team, a graveyard of football memories – though I can’t much on the internet.

The team was called Långban IF, they started in 1924, they played in red and white, the “area” was called Mullvaden (the Mole) and the senior team, was cancelled in 1968 though if I understand it right they made a swift comback in the early 80’s. Långban IF has a webpage though (in Swedish).

It’s when I see this, I’m a glad that my favourite team still is in the loop, I can see my team not just the remains of what once was a team. Still this is ancient remain, a part of our Cultural Heritage, a reminder of what once was, someone’s dreams and aspirations, joy and sorrow, a monument of past glory’s and defeats.

Magnus Reuterdahl

About Magnus Reuterdahl

I am an archaeologist/Osteologist from Sweden. My main intrest lays in north Euorpean archaeology in, preferbly the prehistory of the late iron age and the neolithic periods. I've also got a strong intrest for Chinese archaeology, especially the neolithc Yangshao culture. I also write about cultural heritage and cultural history. Mitt namn är Magnus Reuterdahl, jag är arkeolog och osteolog och arbetar företrädesvis i Sverige även om jag gjort ett par vändor till Kina. På den här bloggen skriver jag om mitt yrke, om fornlämningar, kulturarv och kulturhistoria m m. View all posts by Magnus Reuterdahl

3 responses to “After the games been played

  • Anne Jensen

    Reblogged this on Out of Ice and Time and commented:
    Interesting post pointing out that heritage is what matters to a community,and not always something wonderful and fancy. It might not be the Coliseum, but the Långban football (soccer in US-speak) pitch is part of that community’s heritage.

  • Richard wisecarver

    I have a degree is Anrthroplogy from U. of New Mexico1987 which I have never used to make a living. My last career was as a middle school history teacher. However. I now realize that I have to offer a great of understanding the various Alaska Eskimo Culture (yes we use that word in Alaska since we have more than one Eslimo language and cultures) I spent several summers in Barrow, Alaska 1963-63 and was drawn into the lifestlyle. My interest continued until I moved to Bethel. Ak in 1970, the heart of Yupik Eskimo country . I worked as a laborer and my companions in work, hunting, and fishing were Yupik nmen from some of the 50 surrounding Yupik and Athabaskan villages. Eventually, I traveled by skiff and snow machine thru out the Yukon-Kuskokwim Delta . I learned to hunt and fish thru out the Y-K Delta. I had grown up hunting & fishing, but quickly realized that here in the Delta, unfettered by rules and regulatioins and driven by a desire to survive fell in with men who used ancient technologies I had only known about from field and research work when I studies the ancient world at the Univ. This technologies were accompanied a acomplete system of social beliefs and attitudes unknown or disenfranchised in most of America. Eventually I also married a Yupik woman who was young, bright, independent, and well versed in her culture and language. I changed her life and she changed mine., The Yupik Technology and probably their genetics are a direct descendent of that technplogy develooed in ancient Berengia., Their hunting and fishing technolgy is more complex than any other in the Americas. Along the Kuskokwim, at its mouth and around Nelson Island and be found some of the most conservative and sophisticated Native Americans. In most these villages the children go to school speaking only Yupik but soon becomne literate in both English and Yupik. The fresh & salt water and land still provide over 50% of their diet. And yet this spring during the fishing and hunting on the sea ice, I soon saw live photos and videos posted on facebook. The Yupik people adapt quickly to any kind of technolgy that fits their life is astonishing. Their success recently at the University level is incresing and they are playing a major role in both their healthcare and children’s education. I would like to share my knowledge of my wife’s (she has passed) culture and that of my relative with your knowdge of far northern European archaeology. For instance, recovery of the bone and tusks of extinct mammals are an important part of the Bering Sea economy. Stone tools (as reported to me) are found in the same recently thaw perma frost soils as mammoth and extinct horse bones. These fossils and ancient human remains are constantly being washed out by the angry Bering Sea. Yupik culture still depends on the animals we hunt and the fish we catch while at the same time adapting thir life style to the 21st century. In fact, any non-Yupik who choose to live in this Alaska West coast environment must adapt to the Yupik life style. The clothing worn. food eaten, social values and even language quickly adapt or life becomes incredibly miserable. Cultural shifts and adaptations are an onging situation and makes a lot sense out of obscure archaeological evidence evidence. If myou have any interest in my knowlege of northern cultures please contact me at richardwisecarver@yahoo.com I am 69 years old and will notbe around forever.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

